Custer Still Stands…Proudly!

As I left church on Sunday, August 26, I headed north.  Since it is my practice to seek lodging before dark, this night led me to the quaint town of Custer, South Dakota.

Lodging for the night was found at the charming, family-run Chief Motel.  As I checked in the gentleman, who I later learned owned the establishment, asked if I had ever been to Custer before.  Upon hearing no, he offered to give an overview of the area and pulled out a very nice map of the area.  In addition to the map, he pulled out his well-worn photo packet of the sights to be enjoyed in the area and presented the two of us checking in with a most informative quick presentation, flashing through his packet, matching each photo to the area map.  Based on the photos alone, I knew I was in for some beautiful hiking, a scenic drive, and possible animal sightings.

Shortly after my items were unloaded, I walked the short distance down the main strip to what from its outward appearances promised to be a fun place to eat.  The restaurant, known as The Purple Pie Place, does, as one would imagine based upon name only, sells pie.  I assure there is so much more.  I opted for the strawberry-pecan-chicken salad.  Oh, my!  Delicious!  Not to mention, as you can see, presented with such a beautiful flare. The pecans were glazed and the chicken came in large roasted chunks.  For dessert, I elected ice-cream instead of pie.  My choice, mint chocolate chip.

As I sat enjoying my meal, I looked over their posted chalkboard pie menu. There listed were your typical pie flavors.  They all sounded delicious.  But, I must say it was the one on the bottom of their list that sparked my interest.  Since I was more than full, I promised myself to return tomorrow for my pie.  As if anyone should need a reason for pie, mine was to be, “Just Because I Can!”

My evening in the motel was very comfortable.  I spent it working on my writing and checking in with a few friends and family.  The bed was quite cozy.

After staying in a variety of places along my way, it deserves noting that the fresh scent of the towel after my morning shower was ever so pleasant.  With great rest and a nice warm shower, I was ready for what would surely be a fabulous day.

I checked out intending to head into Custer State Park to check out the scenery from the previous evening’s photo presentation.  But wait, it was too early to leave!  The Purple Pie Place was calling my name.  Sadly it had not yet opened for my must-have piece of pie. Sure, I could have headed on my way, but some things are just enough to peak my interest.  When it came to Raspberry-Rhubarb-Jalapeno pie, I felt this was likely going to be my only opportunity to partake.

With about an hour wait on my hands, I thought I would enjoy the sights of this charming little town of Custer.  One must stop to see was to be the museum housed in the Custer County 1881 Courthouse.  It quickly became rather obvious that folks around these parts were very proud of their local hero and namesake, General George Armstrong Custer, their beautiful area, and their country.

If you have forgotten your history, General George A. Custer is most noted for his “Famous Last Stand” in The Battle of the Little Big Horn, at the hands of Indians from the Lakota ad Cheyenne tribes.  Beyond the exhibits featuring memorabilia pertaining to General George A. Custer, there were displays of weapons, items from one-room schools, rocks, mining tools, childrens’ items, and tools, just to name a few.  There was even a respectable tribute to the military as well as the Vietnam War and its veterans.

With my hour well spent, I returned for my pie.  With my to-go Raspberry-Rhubarb-Jalapeno pie in hand, I said goodbye to the precious purple pig and was now ready to venture into Custer State Park.  It was going to be a beautiful day!

Some may say that Custer had his last stand on June 25, 1876. Since my husband’s death last year, I have heard the quote of David M. Eagleman, “There are three deaths.  The first is when the body ceases to function.  The second is when the body is consigned to the grave. The third is that moment, sometime in the future, when your name is spoken for the last time.” Based upon that definition of death, I would say, in thanks to the hospitality, patriotism, and pride noticed in even the little things, Custer still has one more death left in him.  Yes, Custer still stands…Proudly!

Words That Touched My Heart…

Or should I say stomach… “Raspberry-Rhubarb-Jalapeno” — The Purple Pie Place, Custer, SD

Or my nostrils…The towels from Chief Hotel

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Custer Still Stands…Proudly!

Leave a comment